Six Nations Rugby Tournament starts this Saturday

Posted On: January 27, 2020 BY Jack Sullivan

D&H is getting ready for the Six Nations Rugby Tournament that starts this coming Saturday.

Stop in and see our great selection of Barbour rugby jerseys.  We have six to choose from!

The Six Nations Championship is an annual international rugby union competition between the teams of England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

The tournament was first played in 1883 as the Home Nations Championship among the four Home Nations — England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.  The tournament then became the Five Nations Championship in 1910 with the addition of France.  The tournament was expanded in 2000 to become the Six Nations Championship with the addition of Italy.

The team that finishes at the bottom of the league table is said to have won the Wooden Spoon.

A team that has lost all five matches is said to have been whitewashed.

A team that wins all its games wins the ‘Grand Slam’.



No comments found.